The British & Irish Lions

Tour to New Zealand 2017

1986 | IRB Centenary Celebrations

IRB Centenary CelebrationsThe British & Irish Lions joined in the IRB Centenary Celebrations in 1986 by selecting a team to play a Rest of the World XV drawn from the other overseas unions. The game ended in a 15-7 victory for The Rest. The Lions would have toured South Africa in 1986 if the regular schedule had been kept to but in December 1985 the South African Rugby Board announced they would not be inviting the Lions side to tour South Africa the following year.

Political objections to South Africa's apartheid policies, including a potential boycott of the 1986 Commonwealth Games and state of emergency in South Africa at the time, lay behind this decision. Managed by Clive Rowlands and coached by Mick Doyle the Lions squad of 21 players was the nearest thing to an official 1986 Lions team. Jonathan Davies and Bleddyn Bowen, both Wales, pulled out of the Lions squad due to injury and were replaced by Malcolm Dacey and John Rutherford.

The players were issued with Lions' blazers and ties and considered to be official British & Irish Lions. Rowlands and Doyle were joined on the selection panel by John Finlan (England), Iain MacGregor (Scotland, Willie John McBride (Ireland) and Arthur Lewis (Wales). The game was played at the National Ground, Cardiff Arms Park, on Wednesday, 16 April, 1986, and the Rest of the World XV was managed by Australia's Bob Templeton and coached by New Zealand's Brian Lochore.

British & Irish Lions

Gavin Hastings (Scotland); Trevor Ringland (Ireland), Brendan Mullin (Ireland), John Devereux (Wales), Rory Underwood (England); John Rutherford (Scotland), Rob Jones (Wales); Jeff Whitefoot (Wales), Colin Deans (Scotland, captain), Des Fitzgerald (Ireland), Wade Dooley (England), Donal Lenihan (Ireland), John Jeffrey (Scotland), Nigel Carr (Ireland), John Beattie (Scotland)

Replacements Used: Iain Paxton (Scotland) for Dooley 30 mins; Malcolm Dacey (Wales) for Rutherford 38 mins

Replacements Unused: Michael Kiernan (Ireland), Richard Hill (England), Iain Milne (Scotland), Steve Brain (England)

Try: John Beattie
Pen: Gavin Hastings

Rest of the World XV

Serge Blanco (France); Patrick Estève (France), Andy Slack (Australia, captain), Michael Lynagh (Australia), John Kirwan (New Zealand); Wayne Smith (New Zealand), Nick Farr-Jones (Australia); Topo Rodriguez (Australia), Tom Lawton (Australia), Gary Knight (New Zealand), Steve Cutler (Australia), Schalk Burger (South Africa), Murray Shaw ( New Zealand), Simon Poidevin ( Australia), Murray Mexted ( New Zealand)

Tries: Nick Farr-Jones, Simon Poidevin;
Cons: Michael Lynagh 2;
Pen: Michael Lynagh


R C Francis (New Zealand)

© 2015 British Lions Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM