O’Driscoll to captain Lions

Sir Clive Woodward has announced his 44-man Lions squad to tour New Zealand this summer. [more]

Lions Australia Tour 2013

Sir Clive Woodward has announced his 44-man Lions squad to tour New Zealand this summer.

Ireland’s Brian O’Driscoll will skipper a squad featuring 20 Englishmen, 11 Irish, 10 Welsh and three Scots.

Jonny Wilkinson was surprisingly left out of the party but could still face the All Blacks.

The England captain, currently battling for fitness following a second knee injury this season, was not named among the party but Woodward has left the door open, stating that the England World Cup hero could still travel if he regains full fitness.

Centre Mike Tindall (foot) and prop Phil Vickery (broken arm) are in an identical position to Wilkinson.

Google Ad Manager – In Article

The British & Irish Lions squad to tour New Zealand in June and July:

Brian O’Driscoll (captain) – (Ireland and Leinster)
Neil Back – (England and Leicester)
Iain Balshaw – (England and Leeds)
Gordon Bulloch – (Scotland and Glasgow)
Shane Byrne – (Ireland and Leinster)
Gareth Cooper – (Wales and Newport Gwent Dragons)
Martin Corry – (England and Leicester)
Chris Cusiter – (Scotland and Borders)
Gordon D’Arcy – (Ireland and Leinster)
Lawrence Dallaglio – (England and Wasps)
Matt Dawson – (England and Wasps)
Will Greenwood – (England and Harlequins)
Danny Grewcock – (England and Bath)
John Hayes – (Ireland and Munster)
Gavin Henson – (Wales and Neath-Swansea Ospreys)
Denis Hickie – (Ireland and Leinster)
Richard Hill – (England and Saracens)
Charlie Hodgson – (England and Sale Sharks)
Shane Horgan – (Ireland and Leinster)
Gethin Jenkins – (Wales and Cardiff Blues)
Stephen Jones – (Wales and Clermont Auvergne)
Ben Kay – (England and Leicester)
Josh Lewsey – (England and Wasps)
Lewis Moody – (England and Leicester)
Geordan Murphy – (Ireland and Leicester)
Donnacha O’Callaghan – (Ireland and Munster)
Paul O’Connell – (Ireland and Munster)
Ronan O’Gara – (Ireland and Munster)
Malcolm O’Kelly – (Ireland and Leinster)
Michael Owen – (Wales and Newport Gwent Dragons)
Dwayne Peel – (Wales and Llanelli Scarlets)
Jason Robinson – (England and Sale Sharks)
Graham Rowntree – (England and Leicester)
Tom Shanklin – (Wales and Cardiff Blues)
Andy Sheridan – (England and Sale Sharks)
Ollie Smith – (England and Leicester)
Matt Stevens – (England and Bath)
Simon Taylor – (Scotland and Edinburgh)
Gareth Thomas – (Wales and Toulouse)
Steve Thompson – (England and Northampton)
Andy Titterrell – (England and Sale Sharks)
Julian White – (England and Leicester)
Martyn Williams – (Wales and Cardiff Blues)
Shane Williams – (Wales and Neath-Swansea Ospreys)

Previous story Henry concerned by McCaw blow
Next story Wilkinson still eyeing Lions spot