Wales announce coaching team

Wales boss Gareth Jenkins has unveiled his coaching team that he will take in to the 2007 Rugby World Cup. [more]

Lions Australia Tour 2013

Wales boss Gareth Jenkins has unveiled his coaching team that he will take in to the 2007 Rugby World Cup.

Former British Lions and Wales hooker Robin McBryde has been named forwards coach, while ex-Wales flanker Rowland Phillips will take charge of defence and world points record holder Neil Jenkins, the veteran of Wales 87 caps, will oversee kicking duties.

It is the same all-Welsh coaching team that assisted Gareth Jenkins and attack coach Nigel Davies during Wales’ tour to Argentina last summer.

As well as the 2007 World Cup, the three specialist coaches have been contracted until the end of the 2007-2008 Six Nations Championship.

"I’m delighted that Robin, Rowland and Neil are able to commit themselves fully to what is going to be an incredibly demanding period that will see Wales play a minimum of 23 games, and hopefully two or three more," said Jenkins.

Google Ad Manager – In Article

Jenkins will turn his attention on Wednesday week to naming his 30-man Wales squad for the four autumn internationals, including naming his national captain.

There are three names in the frame for that job – Scarlets outside-half Stephen Jones, Toulouse full-back Gareth Thomas and Ospreys prop and skipper Duncan Jones.

On the coaching appointments Welsh Rugby Union chief executive Steve Lewis said: "I’m delighted Gareth has opted for a home group to take Wales into next year’s Rugby World Cup.

"All three coaches have continued to work with Gareth and the players since the summer tour and will be fully committed to their national roles. We feel we have found the right balance in our working structure for this important year and beyond."

At the 2007 World Cup Jenkins’ team will face Australia, Fiji and Canada and whoever qualifies out of either Japan, South Korea or Hong Kong from the final Asian qualifying group.

More immediately Wales take on the Wallabies, the Pacific Islands, Canada and New Zealand in next month’s autumn internationals.

And they will also play England (Twickenham, August 4), Argentina (Millennium Stadium, August 18) and France (Millennium Stadium, August 25) in three World Cup warm-up games.

Previous story Leonard: England need to improve
Next story Scotland bag world series