Scotland travel without Beattie

Scotland's World Cup squad features one notable omission in Glasgow Warriors back row Johnnie Beattie. [more]

Scotland travel without Beattie

Scotland’s World Cup squad features one notable omission in Glasgow Warriors back row Johnnie Beattie.

Beattie is the highest-profile absentee from a party that features five Lions and is led by lock forward Al Kellock.

Head coach Andy Robinson has opted to leave Beattie back at home despite the star flanker cum No8 having worked his way back to fitness following shoulder surgery last season.

Robinson has instead selectedJohn Barclay, Kelly Brown, Ross Rennie, Alasdair Strokosch and Richie Vernon as his back-row options, with 2009 Lion Nathan Hines covering both the blindside flank and second row.

A total of seven fit players from the recent training squad missed the cut, with Bath full back Jack Cuthbert, back row duo David Denton and Robert Harley, prop Ryan Grant, scrum-half Greig Laidlaw and centre Ben Cairns joining Beattie as the unfortunate ones.

Google Ad Manager – In Article

Ospreys wing Nikki Walker also misses out after picking up a medial ligament injury to his knee in Saturday’s win over Italy.

Full back Hugo Southwell and hooker Fergus Thomson saw their World Cup dreams ended earlier on Scotland’s tournament preparations but Chris Paterson will take part in his fourth global gathering.

“I want to pay tribute to the dedicated and professional approach of all those in our provisional squad,” said Robinson, who coached England to World Cup success alongside Sir Clive Woodward in 2003.

“Eight players have been unfortunate to miss out from that squad but that is because of the talent we have been able to assemble in our final 30.

“As a squad we have our values and uppermost among them is to inspire the nation by the way in which we conduct ourselves and through winning performances on the international rugby field.”

Scotland World Cup squad

Backs: Joe Ansbro (London Irish), Mike Blair (Edinburgh), Chris Cusiter (Glasgow Warriors), Simon Danielli (Ulster), Nick De Luca (Edinburgh), Max Evans (Castres), Ruaridh Jackson (Glasgow Warriors), Rory Lamont (Toulon), Sean Lamont (Scarlets), Rory Lawson (Gloucester), Graeme Morrison (Glasgow Warriors), Dan Parks (Cardiff Blues), Chris Paterson (Edinburgh).

Forwards: John Barclay (Glasgow Warriors), Kelly Brown (Saracens), Geoff Cross (Edinburgh), Alasdair Dickinson (Sale Sharks), Ross Ford (Edinburgh), Richie Gray, Dougie Hall (both Glasgow Warriors), Jim Hamilton (Gloucester),Nathan Hines (Clermont Auvergne), Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh), Alastair Kellock (captain, Glasgow Warriors), Scott Lawson (Gloucester), Moray Low (Glasgow Warriors), Euan Murray (Newcastle Falcons), Ross Rennie (Edinburgh), Alasdair Strokosch (Gloucester), Richie Vernon (Sale Sharks)

NB Bold denotes Lion

Previous story Luke left out by Ireland
Next story Controversy overshadows Wallaby selection