Welsh duo return

Wales have recalled captain Sam Warburton and Lions lock Alun Wyn Jones to their starting line up for Saturday's clash with England. [more]

Welsh duo return

Wales have recalled captain Sam Warburton and Lions lock Alun Wyn Jones to their starting line up for Saturday’s clash with England.

Skipper Warburton returns after missing the win over Scotland with a dead leg, while Jones wins an immediate promotion after returning from a long-term toe injury.

Jones spent more than two months on the sidelines after damaging his toe in training back in November and had at one stage been doubtful for the entire 6 Nations campaign.

Ken Owens is the third and final change from the game against the Scots, with the Scarlets hooker replacing Huw Bennett who was a calf strain.

There are further alterations on the bench as Warburton’s understudy Justin Tipuric has also overcome injury, while Ryan Jones slips from the starting XV to the replacements to make way for namesake Alun Wyn.

Google Ad Manager – In Article

With Owens stepping up to the starting side, Ospreys No2 Richard Hibbard is back involved with the squad after missing the World Cup through injury.

Lions tourist Andy Powell drops out of the matchday 22, as does flanker Aaron Shingler who made his debut on the openside flank last time out.

“A fit again Alun Wyn Jones is selected based on his Rugby World Cup form and his experience as an international lock,” said Wales head coach Warren Gatland.

“He gave us a selection dilemma but it has been a great problem to have and, whilst Ryan Jones is particularly unlucky to miss out on this occasion, this is just that kind of competition for places we have been striving for.

“Ken Owens has been waiting patiently for his chance and whilst injuries elsewhere have meant he gets his opportunity this weekend we are expecting him to take it.”
Lions Test hooker Matthew Rees is still unavailable due to a calf problem, while lock Luke Charteris is another front-line player missing for Wales.

Wales (v England, Twickenham, Saturday, 4pm)

15 Leigh Halfpenny
14 Alex Cuthbert
13 Jonathan Davies
12 Jamie Roberts
11 George North
10 Rhys Priestland
9 Mike Phillips

1 Gethin Jenkins
2 Ken Owens
3 Adam Jones
4 Alun Wyn Jones

5 Ian Evans
6 Dan Lydiate
7 Sam Warburton (captain)
8 Toby Faletau


16 Richard Hibbard
17 Paul James
18 Ryan Jones
19 Justin Tipuric
20 Lloyd Williams
21 James Hook
22 Scott Williams

NB Bold denotes Lion

Previous story Ireland unchanged
Next story Rhino charge on with Lions