Care in, Haskell out

England have announced their new Elite Player squad with Danny Care returning but James Haskell missing out. [more]

Care in, Haskell out

England have announced their new Elite Player squad with Danny Care returning but James Haskell missing out.

Head coach Stuart Lancaster has made seven changes to the squad named at the beginning of the year.

He has added Leicester trio Anthony Allen, Geoff Parling and Thomas Waldrom, Harlequins scrum-half Care, Saracens back Alex Goode, London Irish centre Jonathan Joseph and Exeter flanker Tom Johnson.

Care was one of the shining lights of England’s recent tour of South Africa and his inclusion in the Elite Player squad draws a line under a difficult year, in which he was involved in a number of off-field incidents.

Haskell, who will return to London Wasps, next season is the biggest absentee, having been relegated to the England Saxons squad.

Google Ad Manager – In Article

He is joined by Louis Deacon, Joe Simpson and David Strettle, while Lee Mears and Charlie Hodgson are missing following their retirements from international rugby.

"We spent a long time deciding on these 64, and there were some tough decisions to make," Lancaster said. "
Selecting players at this stage gives us an early chance to sit down and assess the tour and look forward to next season.

"However, experience tells us that form and fitness will play a major role in selection prior to the internationals in November and December, and any of the players in the senior and Saxons squads could easily be involved.

"We saw this in January when Geoff Parling came in as an injury replacement for Louis Deacon and has played every Test since.

“There is always movement which opens the door for players, and I am sure next season will be no different. The great thing is that we have got competition across the board and strength in depth developing in many positions with players who will be around for the next few years."

Players in both squads will attend a training camp at Loughborough University in August.

England kick-off their autumn series against Fiji on November 10, before clashes with Australia, South Africa and New Zealand on consecutive weekends.

FORWARDS (17) – Mouritz Botha (Saracens), Alex Corbisiero (London Irish), Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Tom Croft (Leicester Tigers), Phil Dowson (Northampton Saints), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), Tom Johnson (Exeter Chiefs), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Joe Marler (Harlequins), Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby), Tom Palmer (London Wasps), Geoff Parling (Leicester Tigers), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), Matt Stevens (Saracens), Thomas Waldrom (Leicester Tigers), Rob Webber (Bath Rugby), Tom Wood (Northampton Saints)
BACKS (15) – Anthony Allen (Leicester Tigers), Chris Ashton (Saracens), Brad Barritt (Saracens), Mike Brown (Harlequins), Danny Care (Harlequins), Lee Dickson (Northampton Saints), Owen Farrell (Saracens), Toby Flood (Leicester Tigers), Ben Foden (Northampton Saints), Alex Goode (Saracens), Jonathan Joseph (London Irish), Charlie Sharples (Gloucester Rugby), Manusamoa Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers), Jordan Turner-Hall (Harlequins), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)

England Saxons:
FORWARDS (18) – Nathan Catt (Bath Rugby), Calum Clark (Northampton Saints), Louis Deacon (Leicester Tigers), Paul Doran Jones (Northampton Saints), Carl Fearns (Bath Rugby), James Gaskell (Sale Sharks), Jamie Gibson (London Irish), Joe Gray (Harlequins), James Haskell (London Wasps), Graham Kitchener (Leicester Tigers), Matt Kvesic (Worcester Warriors), Joe Launchbury (London Wasps), Matt Mullan (Worcester Warriors), David Paice (London Irish), George Robson (Harlequins), Henry Thomas (Sale Sharks), David Wilson (Bath Rugby), Tom Youngs (Leicester Tigers)
BACKS (14) – Nick Abendanon (Bath Rugby), Miles Benjamin (Leicester Tigers), Tom Biggs (Bath Rugby), Freddie Burns (Gloucester Rugby), George Ford (Leicester Tigers), George Lowe (Harlequins), Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby), Rob Miller (Sale Sharks), Ugo Monye (Harlequins), Joe Simpson (London Wasps), David Strettle (Saracens), Billy Twelvetrees (Gloucester Rugby), Christian Wade (London Wasps), Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens)

*Bold denotes a former British & Irish Lion

Previous story Visser eyes All Blacks
Next story Youngs blow