Mitchell and Turner back

Flying duo Drew Mitchell and Lachie Turner have returned to Australia's squad ahead of the inaugural Rugby Championship. [more]

Mitchell and Turner back

Flying duo Drew Mitchell and Lachie Turner have returned to Australia’s squad ahead of the inaugural Rugby Championship.

With the regular Super Rugby season coming to an end last weekend, Robbie Deans has picked a provisional squad ahead of three-day training camp.

The 27-man party does not include any players from the Queensland Reds, after the reigning champions qualified for the play-offs with their victory over the Waratahs.

But Waratahs wings Mitchell and Turner have both returned to the fold having missed the recent series victory over Wales.

Melbourne Rebels star Kurtley Beale has also been included but there is no place for James O’Connor, who remains sidelined while Nathan Sharp has been rested.

Google Ad Manager – In Article

The new championship, which replaces the Tri-Nations includes Australia, New Zealand, South Africa and newcomers Argentina kicks-off on August 18.

And Deans reckons the training camp, the first of two meet-ups, will be hugely beneficial to the Wallabies preparations.

"The camps provide us with an important opportunity for training background," Deans said.

"It gives us the chance to bring the whole group together and familiarise them with the method, 'tune' them in to Wallaby content if you like, coming as they are, out of the conclusion of their different state programmes from Super Rugby."

Wallabies captain James Horwill and Wycliff Palu are the only long-term absentees, following hamstring and shoulders injuries, and will not take part in either camp.

Australia training squad: Ben Alexander (Brumbies), Adam Ashley-Cooper (NSW Waratahs), Berrick Barnes (NSW Waratahs), Kurtley Beale (Melbourne Rebels), Nick Cummins (Western Force), Dave Dennis (NSW Waratahs), Kane Douglas (NSW Waratahs), Bernard Foley (NSW Waratahs), Michael Hooper (Brumbies), Rob Horne (NSW Waratahs), Mitch Inman (Melbourne Rebels), Sekope Kepu (NSW Waratahs), Pat McCabe (Brumbies), Drew Mitchell (NSW Waratahs), Stephen Moore (Brumbies), Ben Mowen (Brumbies), Cadeyrn Neville (Melbourne Rebels), Nick Phipps (Melbourne Rebels), David Pocock (Western Force), Tatafu Polota-Nau (NSW Waratahs), Hugh Pyle (Melbourne Rebels), Benn Robinson (NSW Waratahs), Paddy Ryan (NSW Waratahs), Sitaleki Timani (NSW Waratahs), Lachie Turner (NSW Waratahs), Cooper Vuna (Melbourne Rebels), Nic White (Brumbies).

Previous story Cooper banned but recommits
Next story Luckless Lawes