11 Lions selected in England squad for November


11 Lions selected in England squad for November

Eddie Jones has named a 36-man squad ahead of England’s Autumn internationals.

Owen Farrell and Dylan Hartley will co-captain the squad for matches against South Africa, New Zealand, Japan and Australia, taking place on consecutive Saturdays from 3 November. All four matches are 3pm kick-offs.

Buy tickets for England’s November internationals here!

Along with Farrell, Jamie George, Maro Itoje, George Kruis, Courtney Lawes, Kyle Sinckler, Elliot Daly, Jack Nowell, Ben Te’o, Manu Tuilagi and Ben Youngs bring the Lions contingent in the squad to 11, while back-rower Brad Shields also has a connection having faced the Lions as a Hurricane during a thrilling 31-31 draw as part of the 2017 Tour to New Zealand.

Jones has three Lions to choose from in the second-row, a definite area of strength. However, his options have been affected by injury with Jonathan Joseph, Mako Vunipola and Anthony Watson among those ruled out through injury in recent weeks.

Google Ad Manager – In Article

Jones told the RFU: “I’m really happy with the squad. We can only control what we can control and injuries have happened. It gives an opportunity for some good new players to play some important Tests for England while players who have been in the squad before, will have to take on more responsibility.”

He added: “I have named Dylan and Owen as co-captains for the series. They have both been excellent captains for England in the past and will provide a powerful leadership base for us on and off the field.”

“We love Twickenham. The players feel the support and we can’t wait to get out there and play in front of 82,000 against South Africa.”

A 23-man squad will be announced on Tuesday 30 October ahead of the Test against the Springboks on 3 November.

England squad for the 2018 November Series (Lions in bold):

Forwards (20)
Tom Curry (Sale Sharks), Charlie Ewels (Bath Rugby), Jamie George (Saracens), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints) co-captain, Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs), Ted Hill (Worcester Warriors) *, Maro Itoje (Saracens), George Kruis (Saracens), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Zach Mercer (Bath Rugby), Ben Moon (Exeter Chiefs), Ben Morgan (Gloucester Rugby), Michael Rhodes (Saracens), Nick Schonert (Worcester Warriors), Brad Shields (Wasps), Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins), Elliott Stooke (Bath Rugby), Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby), Harry Williams (Exeter Chiefs), Mark Wilson (Newcastle Falcons)

Backs (16)
Chris Ashton (Sale Sharks), Mike Brown (Harlequins), Danny Care (Harlequins), Joe Cokanasiga (Bath Rugby), Elliot Daly (Wasps), Nathan Earle (Harlequins), Owen Farrell (Saracens) co-captain, George Ford (Leicester Tigers), Alex Lozowski (Saracens), Jonny May (Leicester Tigers), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs), Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors), Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers), Richard Wigglesworth (Saracens), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers).

Unavailable for selection

Jack Clifford (Harlequins), Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers), Nathan Hughes (Wasps), Nick Isiekwe (Saracens), Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), Dan Robson (Wasps), Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Mako Vunipola (Saracens), Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby).

Previous story Townsend names Scotland squad for November series
Next story Ireland name powerful squad for November contests