Mako and Jack back but on bench for England

Mako Vunipola and Jack Nowell have returned from injury for England's vital World Cup clash with Argentina, but both have been forced to settle for bench spots. [more]

Mako and Jack back but on bench for England

Jones has named his first-choice XV to take on the Pumas in Tokyo on Saturday, meaning Joe Marler keeps the No.1 shirt alongside Jamie George and Kyle Sinckler in the front row.

George Kruis and Maro Itoje pack down in the second row with Tom Curry and Sam Underhill either side of Billy Vunipola in the back row.

Ben Youngs and George Ford continue their club pairing in the half-backs with Owen Farrell and Manu Tuilagi again the midfield combination.

In the back three Elliot Daly remains at full-back with Anthony Watson and Jonny May on the wing.

Mako Vunipola and Nowell are joined on the bench by the surprise figure of Lewis Ludlam who appears to have leapfrogged Mark Wilson in the back row pecking order.

Google Ad Manager – In Article

Henry Slade and Willi Heinz are also replacements along with Luke Cowan-Dickie, Dan Cole and Courtney Lawes.

Jones said: “We are in Tokyo for the first time and the players are excited to be here and have had a good week’s preparation so far. We know Argentina are a very good team and our players will be ready for the game.

“Argentina is a completely different team from others we have played so far in the pool stages and are always about the physical contest. This week it’s about getting our game right, our set piece in a good place and making sure defensively we are organised and ready to find ways to score points against them.”

England starting XV

15 Elliot Daly (Saracens, 35 caps)
14 Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby, 38 caps)
13 Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers, 36 caps)
12 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 75 caps) C
11 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 48 caps)
10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 61 caps)
9 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 91 caps)

1 Joe Marler (Harlequins, 64 caps)
2 Jamie George (Saracens, 41 caps)
3 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 27 caps)
4 Maro Itoje (Saracens, 30 caps)
5 George Kruis (Saracens, 37 caps)
6 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 15 caps)
7 Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 11 caps)
8 Billy Vunipola (Saracens, 47 caps)


16 Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs, 17 caps)
17 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 54 caps)
18 Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers, 91 caps)
19 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 77 caps)
20 Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 4 caps)
21 Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby, 6 caps)
22 Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs, 23 caps)
23 Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs, 33 caps)

Previous story Sexton skippers as Ireland look to get back on track
Next story Open Side: Lions legend Warburton explores leadership in new book