Vunipola returns for England in Calcutta Cup

Mako Vunipola has recovered from an eye injury and will start for England in the Calcutta Cup against Scotland on Saturday. [more]

Vunipola returns for England in Calcutta Cup

The loosehead prop missed England’s Guinness Six Nations opener against France and replaces Joe Marler in the No.1 jersey.

Eddie Jones has made five changes from the 24-17 defeat to France on Sunday, with Willi Heinz replacing Ben Youngs at scrum-half.

Jonathan Joseph starts at outside centre in place of the injured Manu Tuilagi, while Lewis Ludlam comes in at blindside flanker in place of Courtney Lawes and George Kruis replaces Charlie Ewels in the second row.

Hooker Luke Cowan-Dickie will miss the match after his partner went into labour, meaning Tom Dunn will make his debut from the bench.

Jones said: “Preparation this week has been great. We have sought to address the issues from the France game and have had a really good and sharp preparation for Scotland.

“Scotland are a dangerous side. They like to play with a lot of width and with a lot of flow and tempo in their game. We want to make sure we dominate the gain line.

“Their win record against England at Murrayfield is substantially higher than their overall record against us, so we have to recognise they are a dangerous beast and we have to be at our best to beat them.”

England starting XV
15 George Furbank (Northampton Saints, 1 cap)
14 Jonny May (Leicester Tigers, 53 caps)
13 Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby, 48 caps)
12 Owen Farrell (Saracens, 80 caps) C
11 Elliot Daly (Saracens, 40 caps)
10 George Ford (Leicester Tigers, 66 caps)
9 Willi Heinz (Gloucester Rugby, 10 caps)
1 Mako Vunipola (Saracens, 58 caps)
2 Jamie George (Saracens, 46 caps)
3 Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins, 32 caps)
4 Maro Itoje (Saracens, 35 caps)
5 George Kruis (Saracens, 42 caps)
6 Lewis Ludlam (Northampton Saints, 7 caps)
7 Sam Underhill (Bath Rugby, 16 caps)
8 Tom Curry (Sale Sharks, 20 caps)

16 Tom Dunn (Bath Rugby, uncapped)
17 Ellis Genge (Leicester Tigers, 15 caps)
18 Will Stuart (Bath Rugby, 1 cap)
19 Joe Launchbury (Wasps, 62 caps)
20 Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints, 82 caps)
21 Ben Earl (Saracens, uncapped)
22 Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers, 96 caps)
23 Ollie Devoto (Exeter Chiefs, 2 caps)

Previous story Lions Lowdown: Davies impressed by Wales defensive display
Next story Tompkins set for first start as Pivac makes one change for Ireland clash