Springboks name young guns for Green and Gold week


Springboks name young guns for Green and Gold week

Drawn largely from the ranks of the Junior Springboks, the youngsters will spend a week in camp before returning to their provinces to begin the inter-provincial Under-21 Championships.

South Africa’s director of rugby Rassie Erasmus, Springbok head coach Jacques Nienaber and assistants Mzwandile Stick and Deon Davids picked the two national teams – Green and Gold.

The teams, featuring the 50 best players in the country, will play a one-off ‘Test’ to resume the South African season at DHL Newlands on Saturday, October 3.

The Green and Gold squads, including 13 Rugby World Cup-winning Springboks, will prepare in separate bio-bubble environments in Cape Town with the support of the young guns.

“This is a great opportunity for these youngsters to get a taste of the Springbok environment and equally an opportunity for the national coaches to get an insight into some of the top emerging talent in the country,” said Erasmus.

“There may even be an opportunity for one or two of them to get some match action if there is an injury or a COVID-related issue during the week, but the main objective is to continue the process of national alignment.

“These youngsters have had their year completely disrupted by the pandemic.

Google Ad Manager – In Article

“But we have not stopped tracking them or planning for their future and they will find out that we have a road map already prepared for their further development.”

Green – Props: Nathan McBeth (Emirates Lions), Kudzwai Dube (Emirates Lions). Hooker: Morne Brandon (Emirates Lions). Lock: JJ van der Mescht (Cell C Sharks). Back row: Evan Roos (Cell C Sharks), Phepsi Buthelezi (Cell C Sharks). Scrumhalf: Bernard van der Linde (Vodacom Blue Bulls). Centre: Mnombo Zwelindaba (DHL Western Province).

Gold – Props: Kwenso Blose (DHL Western Province), Asenathi Ntlabakanye (Emirates Lions). Hooker: Fez Mbatha (Cell C Sharks). Lock: Emile van Heerden (Cell C Sharks). Back row: Celimpilo Gumede (Cell C Sharks), Muller Uys (Vodacom Blue Bulls). Scrumhalf: Thomas Bursey (DHL Western Province). Flyhalf: Kade Wolhuter (DHL Western Province).

Previous story Brilliant Russell helps send Racing 92 to European final
Next story Since the Tour: Maro Itoje