Wales pick Lions core

Warren Gatland has named 16 former Lions in Wales' 45-man preliminary World Cup squad. [more]

Wales pick Lions core

Warren Gatland has named 16 former Lions in Wales’ 45-man preliminary World Cup squad.

Gavin Henson, a Lions tourist in 2005, is also included despite making just one appearance for Wales since March 2009.

He made his international comeback and lasted 61 minutes during Wales' 31-28 defeat to the Barbarians on Saturday.

All of Wales' 2009 Lions contingent have been included including three tour veteran Martyn Williams, who lined-up for the Baa-Baas on the weekend. Williams has been recalled to the Welsh set-up despite being overlooked during the RBS 6 Nations.

Also included are Melbourne Rebels vice-captain Gareth Delve and three uncapped players in addition to the five new caps that played against the Baa-Baas.

Google Ad Manager – In Article

Lloyd Burns, Scott Andrews, Ryan Bevington, Toby Faletau and Scott Williams all made their first appearances in the red jersey and they will be joined by Lou Reed, Justin Tipuric and Jason Tovey in the extended squad.

The squad will assemble at the Welsh Rugby Union National Centre of Excellence between 13 June and 20 June as their World Cup preparations begin.

They will then embark on two separate training camps in Spala, Poland, before three Tests in August, where Wales face England twice and then Argentina.

Gatland will then trim the squad to 30 for the World Cup in September.


*Bold denotes a former British & Irish Lions


Huw Bennett (Ospreys), Lloyd Burns (Dragons), Richard Hibbard (Ospreys), Matthew Rees (Scarlets); Scott Andrews (Cardiff Blues), Ryan Bevington (Ospreys), Paul James (Ospreys), Gethin Jenkins (Cardiff Blues), Adam Jones (Ospreys), Craig Mitchell (Exeter Chiefs), John Yapp (Cardiff Blues); Luke Charteris (Dragons), Bradley Davies (Blues), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys), Lou Reed (Scarlets); Gareth Delve (Melbourne Rebels), Toby Faletau (Dragons), Ryan Jones (Ospreys), Dan Lydiate (Dragons), Rob McCusker (Scarlets), Andy Powell (Sale Sharks), Jonathan Thomas (Ospreys), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys), Josh Turnbull (Scarlets), Sam Warburton (Blues), Martyn Williams (Blues).


Tavis Knoyle (Scarlets), Dwayne Peel (Sale Sharks), Mike Phillips (Ospreys), Richie Rees (Blues); Stephen Jones (Scarlets), Rhys Priestland (Scarlets), Jason Tovey (Dragons), James Hook (Perpignan); Andrew Bishop (Ospreys), Jonathan Davies (Scarlets), Gavin Henson (Unattached), Jamie Roberts (Blues); George North (Scarlets), Aled Brew (Dragons), Morgan Stoddart (Scarlets), Scott Williams (Scarlets), Shane Williams (Ospreys); Lee Byrne (Clermont Auvergne), Leigh Halfpenny (Blues).

Previous story Cipriani reinstated
Next story Force still unsure on O’Connor