Cooper recalled.

Quade Cooper has been recalled by Australia ahead of next month's Rugby Championship. [more]

Cooper recalled.

Quade Cooper has been recalled by Australia ahead of next month’s Rugby Championship.

The fly-half had been overlooked by former head coach Robbie Deans and was absent throughout the Wallabies recent Test series with the British & Irish Lions.

James O’Connor pulled on the unfamiliar green and gold number 10 jersey as the Lions claimed a first series triumph since 1997 with a 2-1 win.

But new head coach Ewen McKenzie has included Cooper in his 40-man squad and revealed O’Connor will once again as an outside back.

“Everyone talks about Quade but what I am interested in is depth,” said McKenzie.

Google Ad Manager – In Article

“The pecking order might change in a week’s time. I am not fixed on who will start. What I want is pressure on positions.

“That (in the outside backs) is where I see him (O’Connor) primarily. I think he can play a bunch of positions.”

Cooper has not featured for the Wallabies since facing Argentina 10 months ago.

He was regularly snubbed by Deans after describing his international camp as a “toxic” environment.

But McKenzie, Cooper’s former Super Rugby coach at Queensland Reds, has a track record of getting the best from the maverick playmaker.

James Horwill will captain the team, which will be cut down to a final squad of30 ahead of the Bledisloe Cup opener against New Zealand on August 17.

Kurtley Beale and Wycliff Palu have both been omitted from the squad due to ongoing injuries and they join David Pocock, Digby Ioane, Pat McCabe and Scott Higginbotham on the long-term casualty list.

The Wallabies training squad:

Backs: Adam Ashley-Cooper, Peter Betham, Quade Cooper, Nick Cummins, Anthony Faingaa, Chris Feauai-Sautia, Israel Folau, Bernard Foley, Will Genia, Mike Harris, Tevita Kuridrani, Christian Lealiifano, Jesse Mogg, James O’Connor, Nick Phipps, Joe Tomane, Matt Toomua, Nic White.

Forwards: Ben Alexander, Dave Dennis, Kane Douglas, Saia Faingaa, Scott Fardy, Liam Gill, Michael Hooper, James Horwill, Sekope Kepu, Peter Kimlin, Ben McCalman, Hugh McMeniman, Stephen Moore, Ben Mowen, Tatafu Polota Nau, Hugh Pyle, Benn Robinson, Paddy Ryan, Jake Schatz, Rob Simmons, Scott Sio, James Slipper.

Previous story Australia eye Marshall
Next story Hogg eyes 2017