Lion Laidlaw to lead Scotland in Paris

British & Irish Lion Greig Laidlaw will captain a reshuffled Scotland side as they seek a second win of the Six Nations away in Paris on Saturday. [more]

Lion Laidlaw to lead Scotland in Paris

The Scots were beaten 22-13 by Ireland last time out, but take on France with Gregor Townsend – a key player in the 1997 series victory for the Lions in South Africa – making four changes to his team.

Stuart Hogg and Finn Russell have both been ruled out through injury, as have Huw Jones and Ryan Wilson.

That means a start at fly-half for Peter Horne, while Blair Kinghorn returns at full-back alongside Lions pair Sean Maitland and Tommy Seymour, with Nick Grigg starting in the centres.

Wilson’s spot is taken by Magnus Bradbury in the back row, while Adam Hastings, son of former Lions skipper Gavin, returns to the bench.

Townsend, who was part of the last Scotland team to win in Paris, has backed the quartet coming into the side to step up.

Google Ad Manager – In Article

He said: “Injuries create opportunities for others to show what they can do and, throughout the past couple of seasons, we’ve seen a number of players really step up.

“All of the players coming in started against Argentina in the summer, which ranks as one of our best ever away performances.

“On top of that there is cohesion forged through familiarity at club level – Magnus [Bradbury] in the back-row lines up with clubmate Jamie Ritchie, and Pete Horne and Nick Grigg are either side of Sam Johnson in the backs.”

Scotland team to face France

15. Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh)
14. Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors)
13. Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors)
12. Sam Johnson (Glasgow Warriors)
11. Sean Maitland (Saracens)
10. Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors)
9. Greig Laidlaw (c) (Clermont Auvergne)

1. Allan Dell (Edinburgh)
2. Stuart McInally (Edinburgh)
3. Simon Berghan (Edinburgh)
4. Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh)
5. Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors)
6. Magnus Bradbury (Edinburgh)
7. Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh)
8. Josh Strauss (Sale Sharks)

16. Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors)
17. Alex Allan (Glasgow Warriors)
18. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors)
19. Ben Toolis (Edinburgh)
20. Gary Graham (Newcastle Falcons)
21. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors)
22. Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors)
23. Darcy Graham (Edinburgh)

Previous story Nowell starts again for England’s Cardiff clash
Next story Lions legend Jones to lead Wales against England in Cardiff