The British & Irish Lions

Tour to New Zealand 2017

1993 | New Zealand

Lions Team 1993 New ZealandThe 1993 Lions were the last of the amateur age, and saw the old era end in familiar frustration as New Zealand edged them 2-1 in an exciting Test series.

Captained by Gavin Hastings, coached - for the second time - by Ian McGeechan and managed by Geoff Cooke, the Lions looked to have an even chance when they set off for the southern hemisphere.

England, now the dominant force in Home Unions rugby, supplied 17 of the 30 players who began the tour and seven of the pack that contested the second and third Tests, in Brian Moore, Jason Leonard, Martin Johnson, Martin Bayfield, Ben Clarke, Peter Winterbottom and Dean Richards.

While Dewi Morris and Rob Andrew reprised their England half-back combination, the three-quarters had more of a Celtic look with Hastings, Ieuan Evans and Scott Gibbs all making their presence felt.

The midweek team struggled for both form and identity - in stark contrast to the success of "Donal's Doughnuts" in 1989 - but the established Saturday side looked good going into the Tests.

The Lions got off to the worst possible start, conceding a controversial try inside two minutes as Evans and Frank Bunce both landed over the tryline claiming possession of Grant Fox's high kick.

They battled back to play some excellent rugby in the second half and take an 18-17 lead with a minute to play thanks to six Hastings penalties, only for New Zealand to win 20-18 with a highly controversial penalty Fox converted with the final kick of the game.

The Lions picked themselves up to hit back in style, winning the second Test 20-7, a Rory Underwood try and Bayfield's domination of the lineout the highlights of their biggest ever win against New Zealand.

The All Blacks had played poorly, though, and could be expected to improve significantly in the decider. They did just that and, although the Lions began by building a 10-point lead, Sean Fitzpatrick's men ran away with the game after the break to finish emphatic 30-13 winners.
© 2015 British Lions Ltd Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM